The Ring

A cool breeze blew in from across the lake scattering the last pieces of the shredded letter across the table. Berating myself for not throwing everything away after my frustration last night, I began to gather the pieces. Crouching under the table to retrieve some of the pieces I found a ring sticking out from under the molding along the floor. Dust-covered and dull, I could still tell that the ring had been something special. Elegantly designed, the ring held an oval green stone in delicate filigree gold. Finding something like this after all of my years at the cottage was shocking. Grandma had always cleaned everything immaculately, I was stunned to think that maybe she had overlooked this piece of jewelry. Her life story had been no secret to me, but I’m sure I didn’t know everything. I sat back against the wall and studied the ring, wishing it could tell me its secrets. Just as I was crafting a beautiful story in my mind, I heard a knock at the door. Keeping a tight hold on the ring, I hid it in my palm feeling a surprising warmth radiating from it.

Looking through my front door window pane was the neighbor who was never at a loss for gossip. My hand reached to open the door, but my intuition told me that I should hide the ring from the neighbor’s prying eyes. Nestling the ring in the deepest pocket of jeans, I opened the door.

“Ophelia, so nice to see you. How are you today?” I asked pleasantly.

“Quite a beautiful day today, don’t you agree? Rayna, I stopped by to ask you a very important question.”

Sensing heat growing from the stone in my pocket, I was suddenly nervous.

“To be honest, I don’t have time to chat with you today. Unfortunately I was about to run out.”

“Very well, I won’t bother you, Rayna. When you have time, I’d like to talk to you about some photos of your grandmother that I recently found.”

X-rays could not have looked my thoroughly at my neighbor than I did at that moment. “Yes, I would enjoy seeing them sometime.”

Zipping past my door, Ophelia’s hand reached toward my leg, “I know you found it.”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Writing Challenge: Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

2 thoughts on “The Ring

Leave a Reply

