The Party

gatsby

Our garden party began as I had imagined. The “Great Gatsby” theme brought
out the elegance in everyone: tailored suits, perfectly coiffed hair and
impeccable manners. Yet, how quickly the reserved and elegant atmosphere
turned to mayhem once the champagne was uncorked and guests began
drinking vodka directly from the bottles. The photographer hiding
behind trees or doorframes in order to capture guests in the most
indignant of behaviors. The children of the guests had arrived in
unusual costume attire. As I sat on my patio sipping my martini
and watching the festivities on the lawn, I observed a trio
of girls dressed as ponies prancing proudly through the
tents. Two young hares, rump to rump like dueling
pistols, crouched by the gate. And a single clown
holding a large bunch of balloons just
standing still. The croquet game had
quickly turned into sword fighting
matches and horseshoes were flying
between the trees. I watched
silently, believing that the
gypsies who had arrived
were only a vision.
But as the dogs
stood to
dance, I
had to
excuse
myself
to lie
down.
Falling
asleep
quickly,
it didn’t
seem long
before I
awoke
finding
myself
safely
tucked in bed. I
rubbed the sleep from my eyes and
reminded myself not to watch Fellini films late at
night. I snuggled under my blankets, closed my eyes and
missed the turtle with the stovepipe hat walking across my room.

– – – – – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – Written in response to the Speakeasy #156. Please go to The Speakeasy on Thursday and vote for me! speakeasy This week’s prompts:

 “Two young hares, rump to rump like duelling pistols, crouched by the gate.”

and the song/video for Glory Box, by Portishead,

38 thoughts on “The Party

    • LOL
      Thank you!
      This week’s prompt conjured all sorts of images in my head. Obviously. 🙂
      Thanks for reading!
      Oh, and I hope the format I tried to use worked. It should look like a martini glass.
      🙂

  1. I, too, would most definitely miss a turtle in a stovepipe hat. This was really fun, and I loved the visual that made me feel like I was going down the rabbit hole of your dream.

  2. Everything about this was just well designed, written, and plainly clever. Love the shape of the words creating a wine glass. Love the imagery of such a chaotic and far fetched party. Love the dancing dogs and stovepipe turtles! Just love =)

  3. This was wonderful! Hard to read on my phone but worth the scrolling. Very dreamy and set the mood perfectly. I almost believed it was all a dream – but didn’t want it to have been – until the turtle passed by.

    • 🙂
      I actually had it laid out a little differently, but couldn’t get it to look the way I wanted it to. I was disappointed too with how it looked on my phone. I’m glad you took the time to scroll. 🙂
      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

