It’s Friday, I’m in love

What a bittersweet day today is. It is my 2nd Valentine’s Day single after an 18 year relationship. Last Valentine’s Day I had someone in my life who bought me a single rose and took me to dinner. He was a nice guy and we’ve remained friends. This year I’m licking my emotional wounds from the last 16 months. I really need to stop doing that, but I think I have some more work to do on me.

Looking back over time, I’ve had some pretty good Valentine’s Days and I truly wish the same for my kids. They’ve all had a decent start with crushes – which lasted at least a year each – during preschool. (I’m impressed with their staying power.) Let’s see… there was Victor, then Mark (one of my daughters switched preschools after a move), then there was Devon for my other daughter and finally Katelyn. My son still blushes when we mention Katelyn from whom he received his first kiss at the ripe old age of 4. (I still smile thinking of it, too.) He even gave her flowers a few timesVictor has to be my favorite of the boys the girls crushed on. He wouldn’t leave school without hugging my daughter goodbye and always saved her a seat for every event. Such chivalry.

My first crush was in preschool, too. His name was Charlie and I remember him kissing my hand and up my arm. He was a cute little boy with light brown hair, a year younger then I. I still have a picture of him that was printed in the newspaper and he’s cute even today looking back on a young child. I have no idea where Charlie is or what kind of person he became. I have to admit that I’m interested in finding out. My overactive curiosity gets me into trouble time and time again, but still I never learn how to squelch it. I did look Charlie up a few times via this fascinatingly addictive creation called the internet, but never had any luck.

I have to imagine that we would have been friends if he had gone to my school and grown up with those of us who went to preschool together. (Yes, I am one of those people who have had some of the same friends since we were 4 – 40 years and counting.) If I happen to meet Charlie again in this lifetime, I will be his captive audience learning where life took him.

Wishing you and Charlie a Happy Valentine’s Day!

untitled

Leave a Reply

