Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge really hit me. I’m continually on the hunt for beautiful new places that let my soul fly free.

I’m submitting this picture (which is my page’s header) that I took atop Jungfraujoch in Switzerland.

421026_2883224833196_1277362909_n

In 2007 I went on a solo trip to Switzerland and Italy (leaving my then husband alone with 3 young children) for 8 days. It was a quest to find peace in my heart and soul after my father has suffered a near fatal heart attack (he survived a WidowMaker). While I experienced some of the greatest highs of my life, met some amazing people and loved every moment, I returned to reality with more questions than answers.

Riding the train up to Jungfraujoch from Interlaken was an experience in and of itself – and was actually 3 different trains suited to different terrain. For those unfamiliar, Jungfraujoch (or this site Jungfraujoch, Switzerland) is the highest train station in Europe. You travel through the mountains at some points with brief stops to use the rest rooms and look out of holes cut into the earth. Pitch dark inside the mountain of course, it’s an amazing experience. Once the train line ends, you exit into a fascinating building with a restaurant, an ice sculpture museum of sorts inside the glacier atop the Alps and can go out onto the glacier and look around.

This photo is from atop the glacier – even higher than the train station. We were above the clouds and could see forever. The few towns far below were mere speckles in the green sea. I’m still in awe every time I think of it.

Unfortunately I learned while atop this magnificent mountain, due to a medical condition I have I am unable to maintain myself at high altitudes and almost passed out several times. When I made it onto the train the last thing I remember is 3 German-speaking skiers sitting in the adjacent seats and taking out jerky of some sort. When I awoke we were close to the station for the next train and I was still woozy. Yet, of course, I’d travel there again – just not alone.

When I look at this picture, I feel as if I can accomplish anything. No mountain is insurmountable for me (despite the vertigo).

 

 

Leave a Reply

