When I Grow Up

I’m beginning the high school era with my oldest child next year. She’s selected her 9th grade schedule and is eager to move up in the fall.

The academic in me is very excited. Not that I want her to grow up so quickly, but I love the possibilities that are opening up for her.

I’m already asking her about her high school plans

  • What does she want to accomplish academically?
  • What sports and activities does she want to be part of?
  • Where can she volunteer because everything from here on out will count toward college applications. (College has never been discussed as “optional” in my house. It’s a normal extension of their education.)

She’s already picked the college she wants to go to in 4 years. Luckily for me it’s in state and fairly close. But I feel that I am missing out on exploring opportunities with her. Then again, I picked my college when I was 14. I never waivered and didn’t apply anywhere else. Chalk one up to her being determined, too.

She is a strong, determined young lady. I see much of myself in her, but she is the athlete I never was. She’s contemplating career options already. Possibly teaching.

I’m trying to get her to focus (more than I ever have) on picking a career. You know, pick something you like and make it happen. hmmmmmm…Β  completely different from how I’ve lived my life.

I realize that the only way to reach a goal is to set it and work toward it. Unfortunately, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. A writer? Yes. Own my own business? Yes. Cook and bake for fun and profit? Yes. Be part of a great volunteer organization? Yes. Be a genetic researcher? Yes.

See what I mean?

I’m hoping to teach my kids to have focus. That wonderful thing which I lack completely. Yes, the goals I’ve set have been achieved. But I’m out of practice. You’d think I’d have learned by now that when I set a goal, I do reach it. Eventually.

As the interview question goes – Where do I see myself in five years? I don’t know. My best laid plans often go awry, so I don’t plan much. I know I want to be happy. Financially secure finally. In a relationship. I’ll have 2 kids in college. Yikes. Times goes too fast.

The top goal in my life is to be happy. Beyond that, I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. How many people do?

12 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

  1. Are we maybe a bit too focused on the “what”? What will I be, what will I have. The answer is difficult.
    Maybe thinking about the “how’ for a change might make it easier. How will I be when I grow up? Happy with my choices, excited about my job, loved, loving, not worried, not hungry, not afraid? And if all of these, then extremely lucky:)?

  2. Thank for the beautiful write up. When I was young, I had that question in my mind too.. “what will i be when I grow up” But as the years past, I have to say I Totally Agree with Traveler.. Is important to think about the “How” component.
    For me, I may not know where I will end up next year, (let alone 5 years later). Many things will change, I’ve grown up to belief that life is unpredictable. My life mantra is “Cherish Your Health, Family and friends. And Most important thing, BE Happy whatever I do…”

    • I do agree. I don’t shy from change. I guess part of it is I work in Corporate America and most of the people are focused on planning. Perhaps it’s just me trying to fit in the wrong environment for me….

  3. Another point , in favour of Traveller….
    I totally agree with”how” , instead of “what”,but I see you’re the same idea, too…. Try to be serene ,in peace and happy with your children and live every day as if it were a big gift!
    I love your posts ,anyway ; they make me think a lot!

  4. I just turned 41 and still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up πŸ™‚ For some reason college was an “option” when I was growing up, though I wish now it hadn’t been. My kids will never know that option either, like yours. College is a must. Thanks so much for the follow and many blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

