Best Date Ever

P1030412

I’ve been on some really interesting dates with some very interesting men over the years. But one night in particular stands out.

Many years ago, I went out with a man who knew how to impress a woman by doing things simply.

We drove along winding country roads up to the top of a mountain to a place the people in the area called “Aeroplano” because it gave a view similar to being in an airplane.

He came around to my side of the car, reached out for my hand, asked me to close my eyes and guided me out. He stood behind me, wrapped his arms around me, then asked that I open my eyes to see an incredible view. The lights flickered below us down to the gulf. Only a few lights were nearby from farmhouses. Barely a sound other than those of a spring night in the countryside reached our ears.

I was speechless with the beauty of the moment, the place, the evening, the company.

He whispered in my ear that it was one of his favorite places.

I turned to look into his eyes, we wrapped our arms around one another and just stood, embracing, in the perfect evening air. 

I have no idea how long we just stood there soaking in the view, the sounds, each other. Moments like that cannot be captured with anything other than a heart.

One thought on “Best Date Ever

Leave a Reply

